• fbacorpcomm

LBS Faculty Ogbechie and Ajogwu on FG Committee to Review Suspended National Codes of Corporate Governance


LBS Faculty Ogbechie and Ajogwu on FG Committee to Review Suspended National Codes of Corporate Governance

LBS Faculty; Prof Chris Ogbechie, Professor of Strategic Management and Prof Fabian Ajogwu, Senior Advocate of Nigeria and Professor of Corporate Governance, are members of a recently inaugurated Federal Government Technical Committee for the review of the suspended National Codes of Corporate Governance by the Financial Reporting Council of Nigeria (FRC).

The objectives of the committee include reviewing the suspended national codes of corporate governance taking into cognisance the extensive public commentary received on the suspended codes, developing/recommending the revised codes, and carrying out all such activities as are necessary to give the foregoing objective.

The Chairman of the board, FRC, Mr Adedotun Sulaiman stated, “the technical committee will focus on the corporate bodies, corporations, banks, insurance, pensions and other organisations and sectors whose activities contribute significantly to the economy. The draft exposure for this will be ready in three months, after that, that of the public sector and then the NGOs and not-for-profit organisations. We hope to achieve that before the end of the year” Sulaiman concluded.

Other members of the 16-man technical committee include a former President of the Institute of Directors, Ms. Bennedictar Molokwu; Partner at KPMG, Mrs. Tomi Adepoju; a director at the Corporate Affairs Commission, Garba Abubakar; MTN Company Secretary, Mrs Uto Ukpana; Deputy Director, Legal, Central Bank of Nigeria, Mr Kofo Abdulsalam; Mrs Tola Omotola of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators of Nigeria; Mrs Benjamin Sallau of the Securities and Exchange Commission; Mr Abdulrahman Saleem of Pension Commission; and Mr Godstime Iwenekhai of the Securities and Exchange Commission. The remaining members of the committee are the Director, Supervision, National Insurance Commission, Mr Nicholas Okpara; Prof. Nat Ofo of Igbinedion University; Mr Tijani Borodo, a legal practitioner; and Mr Nelson Anumaka of the FRC.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *