• fbacorpcomm

LBS Alumnus Becomes DG of Budget Office


LBS Alumnus Becomes DG of Budget Office

LBS alumnus, Mr Ben Akabueze, has recently been appointed the Director General of the Budget Office of the Federation by the President of Nigeria.

Akabueze takes over from Mr Tijani Mohammed Abdullahi who will now serve as special adviser to the president on planning and will continue to work with the minister of Budget and National Planning.

Akabueze served as Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of NAL Bank PLC in 2000. He also served as Executive Director at Sterling Bank Plc in 2006. Akabueze has worked with a number of organisations among which are the Nigerian Television Authority, (NTA), Maiduguri, Pricewaterhouse (Chartered Accountants), Nigerian International Bank Limited (Citibank Nigeria), Fidelity Bank Plc and United Bank for Africa Plc. He was appointed Honourable commissioner for Economic Planning & Budget, Lagos State from 2007 to 2015. He has been Non-Executive Director at Chams Plc since February 03, 2016, and also served as a Director of Sterling Bank Plc until August 31, 2006.

To his accolades, he was awarded the JF Kennedy Scholar award, National Merit Scholarship for academic excellence (1980 – 82), Second Place Merit Prize – Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria Professional Exams (1984), Citibank Global Account Management award (1991) and the Distinguished Citizen Award – Anambra State Development Foundation (2003). Mr Akabueze is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN), Fellow Institute of Credit Administrators (FCA) and an Honorary Member, Chartered Institute of Bankers (CIBN).

Akabueze is a distinguished banker, accountant, economist and administrator, he holds a first class B.Sc degree in Accounting from the University of Lagos. He attended the Advanced Management Programme (AMP 4) at Lagos Business School and currently serves as a member of the Executive Council of the Lagos Business School Alumni Association.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *